Skip to content

You Should Be Writing

November 3, 2014

I should be writing. I should be delving into my current screenplay and completing the first draft. On a side note, it’s important for you aspiring writers to understand you should not expect the first draft of anything you write to be great. In fact, it most likely won’t be good at all. According to Ernest Hemingway, “The first draft of everything is shit.” The first draft is essentially just getting your outline into the proper format, whether for screen, television, book, or Internet. Don’t worry about making it perfect. It won’t be. Just rip open your chest and let your heart spill onto the page. You’ll have plenty of time to clean it up later.

Now where was I? Oh yes. I should be writing. I seem to be easily distracted. I seem to have trouble finding motivation. I’m sure, if you’ve been writing for any substantial period of time, you can relate. Sometimes I just don’t feel like writing. Sure, I’ve got these great ideas rolling around in my head, but they have no desire to will themselves onto the page. Instead they’d rather enjoy videos of over confident teenagers attempting, and failing, ridiculous stunts. Perhaps they’ll inspire me. “You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.” – Jack London

So I grabbed a club and started pecking away on my keyboard. The truth is, it doesn’t matter what you write about, as long as you’re writing. Eventually you’ll find your inspiration. It is at that very moment when you find it, that you must clobber it over the head with the club you brought along with you. Don’t knock it out. Just stun it. Jolt it. Then let it run free.

The point is we all have moments when we don’t feel like writing. It doesn’t matter if you don’t feel like it or not. Your heart, mind, and soul always have something to say. So sit your ass down and start writing whatever they want you to. Once you’ve allowed them their say, they will let you get back to the story you SHOULD be writing. So what’s my point? Write! Write every day! Write when you don’t want to! Write when inspiration strikes! It doesn’t matter what you write, just write! You’ll thank yourself for it later.

Leave a Reply

