Skip to content

Television: The New Frontier

August 17, 2015

Everyone is talking about the new Golden Age of television. With Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, and the plethora of other streaming networks throwing their hats into the ring, not to mention the smaller cable networks like F/X, The CW, and AMC creating original content, now is a great time to be a TV writer. Good television writers are in high demand. If you don’t know all the rules, if you don’t know who to talk to, if you want to be a television writer, it would behoove you to take some television writing workshops. Which brings me to why I’ve been on a lengthy hiatus.

Over the last several weeks I have been learning from some of the most knowledgeable TV writers in the business. Even with all this new activity going on it’s still very important that you know the basics of television screenwriting. You still need to be better than good in order to attract the attention of the powers that be. It’s still important to know story structure, character arc, formatting, and character development. The best places to learn such things, other than my blog (shameless plug), is to take workshops. But workshops are expensive depending on where you look. They can be upwards of $400 for a 4 -6 week course. So how can you obtain this knowledge for an affordable price? I’m glad you asked.

I have taken all the information I have studied over the last several weeks (including my already expansive knowledge from my Full Sail degree) and developed a beginner’s online television writer’s workshop. I’m offering an unheard of 10-week course for only $210. That’s 40% off the normal $350 price. Included in the course, I will provide free feedback coverage ($99 value) for your completed pilot. If you pass the course you will receive a certificate of successful completion (passing criteria will be explained on the signup page). If you don’t pass you can take the final 5 weeks of the class over again for only $99. This offer is for a limited time only and won’t last long.

If you’ve ever wanted to be a writer for television, now is the time. Make sure you get the knowledge you need in order to get your scripts into the right hands. Click this link to signup today. Classes start September 7, 2015.

3 Comments
  1. Nice! I’ve read a couple of books on writing the pilot for a series. It’s my understanding that once a pilot is sold, the production company then hires a staff of writers to write the rest of the series, whether it’s just for one season or ten. Here’s my question. Why can’t I be part of the staff of writers? I can’t just let my pilot fall into the hands of strangers. That’s like training a dog since he was a pup only to hand him over to somebody else (sniffle sniffle). My pilot is my puppy. I have long-term plans for my characters and plots that can possibly span several seasons.

    P.S. I’m behind in my reading since I’ve been ill. I tried to find this blog on LinkedIn to comment there as well, but it seems that blogs expire on LI. Disappointing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

